SKR Mini E3 V3 issue - cannot flash, cannot talk over USB

I had been using this board with Klipper successfully for many months now on an Ender 3.  However, I moved the board to an external enclosure, and the USB stopped working.  I attempted to connect via UART2 after flashing to UART2-specific firmware but also had no success there. 

I have tried re-flashing back to USB and am no longer having success with flashing firmware.  I am even trying to push standard Marlin firmware from your Github site as a test.  It no longer creates a file "firmware.cur" on the SD card when I attempt to power it on.  I have retrieved stock "firmware.bin" for Ender 3 and included a 2nd copy named "firmware" as well, and no success.

I cannot find a /dev/serial/by-id listed when the SKR is plugged in to my Raspberry Pi.  When I plug the stock Ender 3 board into the Pi, I do find /dev/serial/by-id/<uniqueidstring>, and I have the stock Ender 3 board communicating with Octoprint in the meantime.

Screenshot attached of the flash card contents.  I ejected from the SKR only after powering on and waiting for several minutes.  I have also included a photo of the powered-up board.

skrminiflash.JPG

The card is formatted with the SD Card format utility and is 4GB FAT32.  I have also tried different cards of varying sizes.  The pins inside the flash card housing appear to be fine/not bent down or out of the way.  The green LED lights up near the card slot when a card is inserted.  The Power LED is lit up in red.  Status is not lit at all in this photo.

skrminie3v3.JPG

Edited by Randy Clements
Clarification

• Randy Clements changed the title to SKR Mini E3 V3 issue - cannot flash, cannot talk over USB

I discovered something I may have inadvertently done.  The procedure to download the binary file from GitHub is important!  If I right-click and choose save as, the browser downloads a file named firmware-USB.bin, but the file contains web information, not the actual firmware.