SKR mini E3 V3 with BL touch 3.1

Plungislua

Hello everyone, I have an Ender 5+ with firmware from Kersey Fabrications (Marlin 2.0.9.3) for the SKR E3 V3, and a BL touch smart 3.1. I am new to making firmware, but fairly comfortable with going in and changing out code to customize it.

I am having a strange issue where the BL touch works flawlessly 19 times out of 20, but then randomly it deploys.. the bed raises, and the probe just stays red and the bed crashes into the nozzle.

So far I have done:

•   Verified my wires were connected to the correct pin (3 times), i use the Method where 3x are plugged into the sensor (brown red yellow) and 2x are in the z-end stop (black white)
  •   Double checked and redone the connector to the board incase bad connection.
  •   purchased a new BL touch, seems to do it less... but happened the first time I tried to do an auto level.

I am not sure if there is some line of code in marlin i missed/shouldnt of included or if i just need to replace the entire set of cables all the way from the board to the printer head. Any thoughts on this?

So i have tried 2x BL touches, 1 is new out of the box (Purchased it from your amazon page).  they are both v3.1 bl touches. Both have the same issue.

I compared it to my other printer where the BL touch is working correctly, and it does the same colors at the same times.

it is red light on when stowed, deploys and turns blue. 

to be specific on what is happening, is about every 20th z probe it deploys like normal, then the bed moves up and makes contact with the probe. After about 1 mm or so the BL touch goes red but the probe doesn't stow, and it just keeps going till it crashes into the bed. 

it is only occasionally that it happens, but i get really nervous now every time it goes to home the Z-axis.  I have tried reflashing the firmware with the BL touch having all 5 wires go to the Z-probe connector and it does the same thing.... 

• 2 weeks later...